What is a Five Star Rating?

Dellridge and Woodcliff Lake Health and Rehabilitation have both been awarded the coveted Five Star rating by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid (CMS), a ranking achieved by only three sub-acute/skilled nursing facilities in all of Bergen County. In fact, this ranking was awarded to fewer than 50 of New Jersey’s 372 long-term care sub-acute/skilled nursing facilities.
What does a 5 Star Rating mean? It consists of 3 criteria:

Health Inspections – The health inspection rating contains information from the last three years of onsite inspections conducted by the NJ Department of Health, including both annual visits and any complaint investigation findings.

Quality Measures – This rating is based on ten different physical and clinical measures for sub-acute/skilled nursing facilities patients. This information shows how well sub-acute/skilled nursing facilities care for their patients’ physical and clinical needs.

Staffing Information – This rating includes information about the average number of hours of care given by nursing staff to each patient per day.

According to Medicare.gov, these are the definitions for each rating:

5 Stars: Much Above Average  
4 Stars: Above Average  
3 Stars: Average  
2 Stars: Below Average  
1 Star:   Much Below Average  

To see for yourself, go to Nursing Home Compare.

Published in: on March 18, 2009 at 2:35 pm  Leave a Comment